Citizenship

How do I become a New Zealand Citizen?

Applications to become a New Zealand citizen are made through the Department of Internal Affairs. Information on how to do this can be found on their website or by phoning them on 0800 22 51 51.

The Department of Internal Affairs will communicate with you throughout your application process and will inform you when your official ceremony will be.

Where and when are the citizenship ceremonies held?

Citizenship ceremonies are usually held in the Council Chamber at Civic House, 110 Trafalgar Street. The ceremonies are officiated by the Mayor or Deputy Mayor.

Citizenship ceremonies for 2017 will be held on:

  • Wednesday 15 February, 9.30am
  • Wednesday 15 March 9.30am
  • Wednesday 12 April 9.30am
  • Monday 8 May 3.30pm
  • Wednesday 7 June 9.30am
  • Wednesday 5 July 9.30am
  • Wednesday 16 August 9.30am
  • Wednesday 13 September 9.30am – (At Whakatū Marae)
  • Wednesday 25 October 9.30am
  • Wednesday 22nd November 9.30am
  • Monday 11 December 3.30pm

Please note that these dates are subject to change.

What happens at a citizenship ceremony?

Successful candidates for New Zealand citizenship are required to attend a citizenship ceremony.

At the ceremony the candidate will stand before the Mayor and take either the Oath or Affirmation of Allegiance, declaring that they will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, Queen of New Zealand, and that they will observe the laws of New Zealand and fulfil their duties as a New Zealand citizen. After swearing allegiance to Her Majesty the Queen, the candidate becomes a New Zealand citizen and is presented with a citizenship certificate. Light refreshments follow the ceremony.

Recipients are encouraged to wear national dress for the occasion, but this is optional. There is an opportunity to have photos taken with the Mayor.

Further Information

For all citizenship enquiries, please contact the Department of Internal Affairs on 0800 22 51 51.

For ceremony related enquiries, please contact Customer Support (03) 546 0200.